Announcement - ACS COMP Division CCG Excellence Award Winners - Anaheim 2004.

Dear Computational Chemistry Community,
 On behalf of the ACS Division of Computers in Chemistry and the Chemical
 Computing Group, it is my pleasure to announce the winners of the CCG
 Excellence Award for the 227th ACS National Meeting in Anaheim,
 California.  All of the applications received were of the highest
 quality, and the panel of judges had to make many tough choices.  Those
 not selected for Awards this time are encouraged to reapply for the
 Philadelphia meeting.
 The winners have earned up to $1,150 in expense reimbursements to cover
 their travel and local expenses during the meeting.  They will also be
 honored during a ceremony at the COMP Division Poster Session and then
 attend an Awardee Dinner on Tuesday evening, March 30th.  Each winner
 will also receive a one year license to the most current MOE software
 for their research group.
 Congratulations to the winners!  They are listed here in no particular
 Xiaolin Cheng - "Molecular Dynamics Simulations of 8-oxoguanine:A
 mismatch DNA"
 Department of Chemistry and Center for Structural Biology, Stony Brook
 Alexander Perryman - "HIV-1 Protease Molecular Dynamics of a Wild-Type
 and of the V82F/I84V Mutant: Possible Contributions to Drug Resistance
 and a Potential New Target Site for Drugs." Howard Hughes Medical
 Institute, Department of Pharmacology, & Dept. of Chemistry and
 Biochemistry*, University of California at San Diego, La Jolla, CA
 Asif Ladiwala - "Prediction of Protein Affinity in Hydrophobic
 Interaction Chromatography using Quantitative Structure-Retention
 Relationship (QSRR) Models".  Department of Chemical and Biological
 Engineering, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute, Troy, NY 12180
 Asim Okur - "Multiple pathways in beta-hairpin folding and unfolding
 Department of Chemistry, Stony Brook University
 Jessica Swanson - "Revisiting Free Energy Calculations: One Step Closer
 to Rigorous Scoring Functions and One Step beyond MM/PBSA".
 Department of Chemistry & Biochemistry, University of California, San
 Diego, La Jolla, CA 92093-0365
 Ivan Tubert-Brohman -  "Improved Semiempirical Methods: Parameterization
 of PDDG/PM3 for Sulfur"
 Yale University, Department of Chemistry P.O. Box 208107, New Haven, CT
 Sarah A. Mueller Stein - "The Influence of Steric Congestion on the
 Dynamics and Geometry of DNA".
 Duquesne University, 308 Mellon Hall, 600 Forbes Avenue, Pittsburgh, PA
 Wei (David) Deng - "Predicting Protein-Ligand Binding Affinities using
 Transferable Atom Equivalent (TAE) Techniques And Machine-Learning
 Methods". Department of Chemistry, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute,
 Troy, NY 12180
 Andreas Bender - "Similarity Searching using Atom Environments,
 Information Gain based Feature Selection and the Naove Bayesian
 Unilever Centre for Molecular Informatics, Department of Chemistry,
 University of Cambridge, Lensfield Road, Cambridge CB2 1EW, United
 Anne E. Loccisano - "Development of New CHARMM Force Field Parameters
 for Novel DNA Bending Agents"
 Duquesne University, 308 Mellon Hall, 600 Forbes Avenue, Pittsburgh, PA
 We applaud all of the applicants, and encourage graduate students
 working in the field of Computational Chemistry to apply for the next
 round of CCG Excellence Awards for the Philadelphia ACS National
 Meeting, August 22-26, 2004
 Please watch your E-mail for announcements of the next deadline for
 submission of application packages for COMP's CCG Excellence Award!
 Curt M. Breneman
 COMP Division Treasurer
 Professor of Chemistry
 110 8th St
 Troy, NY 12180