CCL Home Page
Up Directory CCL 08.10.14 InnovationWell Autumn Meeting: Innovation in Life Science & Healthcare R&D
From: chemistry-request at
To: chemistry-request at
Date: Fri Jun 13 01:45:08 2008
Subject: 08.10.14 InnovationWell Autumn Meeting: Innovation in Life Science & Healthcare R&D
Innovation in Life Science & Healthcare Research and Product Development

InnovationWell Autumn Community of Practice Meeting
14-17 October 2008
Bryn Mawr College, Bryn Mawr, Philadelphia, USA

Conference Link:

Themes: Critical Path Advances in Drug Development, Innovation &
Knowledge Management in R&D and Translational Medicine, Computational
Biology, Predictive ADME, Predictive Toxicology, Metabolomics,
Biomarkers, Systems Biology

Program Summary
Systems Biology, chaired by Keith Elliston (Genstruct)
Computational Biology, chaired by Debraj Guhathakurta (Merck)
Knowledge Management in Translational Medicine, David Bousfield (Ganesha
Applications of Metabolomics to Drug Discovery & Development, chaired by
Bruce Kristal (Brigham and Women’s Hospital)
Predictive ADME, chaired by Anthony E. Klon (Pharmacopeia Drug Discovery)
Predictive Toxicology, chaired by Artem Cherkasov (University of British

Pre-Conference Workshop, 13 October
Knowledge Management in R&D
chaired by John Conway (Accelrys) and Frank Hollinger (FRESH Directions

Keith Elliston (Genstruct), Debraj GuhaThakurta (Rosetta Inpharmatics,
Merck & Co.), Stephen W. Edwards (U.S. Environmental Protection
Agency), Paul McDonagh (Gene Network Sciences), Christopher M.L.S.
Bouton (Pfizer), James R. Brown (GlaxoSmithKline), John Wilbanks
(Creative Commons), Barry Bunin (Collaborative Drug Discovery), Michael
Liebman (Windber Research Institute), Jerry Wright (Johns Hopkins
Medical Institutions), Anastasia Christianson (AstraZeneca), James
Golden (Science Applications International Corporation), John Speakman
(National Cancer Institute), William Hayes (Biogen Idec), Andrew
McMurray (Harvard University), Eugene Clark (Partners Healthcare), Alvin
Berger (Metabolon), John Newman (USDA), Bruce Kristal (Brigham and
Women’s Hospital), Anton Hopfinger (University of New Mexico), Heidi
Einolf (Novartis), Yojiro Sakiyama (Pfizer), Olga Obrezanova (BioFocus
DPI, UK), Anthony E. Klon (Pharmacopeia), Artem Cherkasov (University of
British Columbia, Canada), Ann Richards (US EPA), Curt Breneman (RPI),
Alex Tropsha (UNC), Barry Hardy (Douglas Connect), Weida Tong (FDA)

We invite contributed papers from members of academic, government
research and commercial organizations on areas of new research and
innovation relevant to innovation and knowledge management in the life
sciences. The work presented should involve innovative new method
development or application in the areas of systems biology,
translational medicine, knowledge management, computational biology,
metabolomics, predictive ADME, predictive toxicology or bioinformatics.
Studies including experimental work in medicinal chemistry, screening,
experimental toxicology, pre-clinical evaluation, lead optimisation and
translational medicine are welcome.

Abstracts (300-500 words) should be submitted to innovationwell -[at]- by 31 July 2008, and be accompanied by a short
biography of the presenting author (300-500 words). Abstracts approved
by the scientific organizing committee will be selected for scheduling
on the conference program and in meeting poster sessions. Authors will
be notified of acceptance as soon as a review of submitted materials
takes place and at the latest by 15 August 2008.

Bursary Awards will be used to support the attendance of a selection of
academic young investigators at the meeting and workshops. Applicants
should be working in a relevant area of research related to life
science, healthcare, and drug product discovery and development at the
postdoctoral, graduate student and senior undergraduate levels.

To apply for the bursary please send an email with a) your abstract and
biography (300-500 words each), b) your CV of 1-2 pages, c) a short
description of your interests and career motivations related to
R&D (300-500 words) to innovationwell -[at]- by
31 July 2008. The recipients of the bursary awards will be selected
based on an evaluation of the quality and innovation of the described
research and the potential positive impact of attendance at the meeting
on their research and career progress. Authors will be notified of
acceptance by 15 August 2008.

Poster Session
All InterAction Meeting registrants are eligible to present a Conference
Poster. The Poster Sessions will take place in the evenings in Thomas
Great Hall on campus, where refreshments and dinner are also served.
Poster Abstracts (300-500 words) with Title, Institution, Authors and
Contact Information should be submitted to barry.hardy -[at]- Abstracts will be considered based on date of
submission and quality, and will be reviewed and accepted as they are
received. To be considered for the formal program, they should be
submitted at the very latest by 31 August 2008.

Program: Dr. Barry Hardy, InnovationWell Community of Practice, Douglas
Connect. Tel: +41 61 851 0170. barry.hardy -[at]-

Registration Enquiries: Nicki Douglas, Douglas Connect, Baermeggenweg
14, 4314 Zeiningen, Switzerland. Tel: +41 61 851 0461. 
InnovationWell -[at]-
All @ signs were changed to % to fight spam. Before you send e-mail, you need to change % to @
For example: change to
Please let colleagues know about conference listingts at Computational Chemistry List Conference Page at

Please help: If you find this conference list useful but you noticed some conference missing, please consider including it here by using the Conference Submission Page. It is free but your support is welcome. You will help others!!!

Modified: Fri Jun 13 05:45:08 2008 GMT
Page accessed 5540 times since Fri Jun 13 05:45:10 2008 GMT

Please help maintain CCL: If you found that your conference is listed here, please consider supporting CCL as a Supporting Member or use other Paid Services of CCL to ensure the continuation of this useful service. We cannot do it without your help.