CCL Home Page
Up Directory CCL 10.07.25 Canadian Symposium on Theoretical Chemistry, Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
From: chemistry-request at
To: chemistry-request at
Date: Tue Mar 16 14:01:56 2010
Subject: 10.07.25 Canadian Symposium on Theoretical Chemistry, Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Dear Colleagues,

Registration and abstract submission are now open for the 17th Canadian Symposium on 
Theoretical Chemistry (CSTC) to be held in Edmonton, Alberta from July 25 to 30, 2010. Held 
every three years, the CSTC is an international meeting that brings together theoretical chemists
from across Canada and around the world. Early bird registration is available until May 1, 2010 
and abstract submission is available until June 30, 2010. See the conference website 
( for further details. 

Beginning with an opening reception on Sunday evening (July 25), the symposium consists of 
40 min invited talks given Monday through Friday. Two poster sessions for contributed abstracts 
and a banquet held on Thursday evening complete the format. The current lists of confirmed 
invited speakers and session chairs are available below. The symposium is intended to cover 
the full scope of theoretical chemistry, including electronic structure methods, chemical 
dynamics, and statistical mechanics, with a particular focus on recent theoretical and 
methodological advances. Information regarding the symposium including the program, a list 
of invited speakers, registration, abstract submission, accommodation, travel, and the 
conference history, is posted on the conference website ( 

If you have any questions or require additional information, please do not hesitate to contact 
any member of the organizing committee. We look forward to seeing you in Edmonton this 


The organizing committee of the 17th Canadian Theoretical Chemistry Conference:
Alex Brown (Department of Chemistry, University of Alberta), alex.brown[a]
Mariusz Klobukowski (Department of Chemistry, University of Alberta), 
Pierre-Nicholas Roy (Department of Chemistry, University of Waterloo), pnroy[a]
Mark Thachuk (Department of Chemistry, University of British Columbia), thachuk[a]

17th Canadian Symposium on Theoretical Chemistry

July 25-30, 2010

The conference will be held at the Lister Hall Conference Center, University of Alberta, 
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

List of Confirmed Invited speakers:
Wesley Allen, University of Georgia
Alan Aspuru-Guzik, Harvard University
Russell Boyd, Dalhousie University
Regina de Vivie-Riedle, University of Munich
Aaron Dinner, University of Chicago
Michel Dupuis Pacific Northwest National Laboratory
Martin Field, Institut de Biologie Structurale - Jean-Pierre Ebel
Shekhar Garde, Renesselaer Polytechnic University
Gabriel Hanna, University of Alberta
John Herbert, Ohio State University
Kimihiko Hirao, RIKEN
Christiane Koch, Freie University, Berlin
Roman Krems, University of British Columbia
Oliver Kuhn, Universitat Rostock
Guillaume Lamoureux, Concordia University
Hans-Dieter Meyer, Universitat Heidelberg
Hirotoshi Mori, Ochanomizu University
Nick Mosey, Queen's University
Hiroshi Nakatsuji, Quantum Chemistry Research Institute
Irina Paci, University of Victoria
Jason Pearson, University of Prince Edward Island 
Piotr Piecuch, Michigan State University
Stuart Rothstein, Brock University
George Schatz, Northwestern University
Klaus Schulten, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Peter Schwerdtfeger, Massey University
Jack Simons, University of Utah
Viktor Staroverov, University of Western Ontario
James Stewart, MOPAC
Walter Thiel, Max-Planck-Institut fur Kohlenforschung
Peter Tieleman, University of Calgary
Noham Weinberg, University of the Fraser Valley
Hans-Joachim Werner, Universitat Stuttgart
Tom Woo, University of Ottawa
Koichi Yamashita, University of Tokyo

List of Confirmed Session Chairs:
Tucker Carrington, Queen's University
Rene Fournier, York University 
Peter Kusalik, University of Calgary 
Marcel Nooijen, University of Waterloo
Gilles Peslherbe, Concordia University
Ray Poirier, Memorial University
Arvi Rauk, University of Calgary
Dennis Salahub, University of Calgary
Ajit Thakkar, University of New Brunswick
Alex Wang, University of British Columbia
Tom Ziegler, University of Calgary
All @ signs were changed to : to fight spam. Before you send e-mail, you need to change : to @
For example: change joe : to
Please let colleagues know about conference listingts at Computational Chemistry List Conference Page at

Please help: If you find this conference list useful but you noticed some conference missing, please consider including it here by using the Conference Submission Page. It is free but your support is welcome. You will help others!!!

Modified: Tue Mar 16 18:01:56 2010 GMT
Page accessed 5890 times since Tue Mar 16 17:56:51 2010 GMT

Please help maintain CCL: If you found that your conference is listed here, please consider supporting CCL as a Supporting Member or use other Paid Services of CCL to ensure the continuation of this useful service. We cannot do it without your help.